In Your Face Politics to Get a Say


English: John of England signs Magna Carta. Im...

English: John of England signs Magna Carta. Image from Cassell’s History of England – Century Edition – published circa 1902 Scan by Tagishsimon, 23rd June 2004 Português: João Sem Terra Assina a Carta Magna. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

In 1993 when I was at a protest at the Parliament Buildings, along with 110,000 plus others, I was of course protesting Canada’s NAFTA deal with United States and Mexico, but also I was handing out a brochure that I had produced meant to improve Canada’s system of government. As I handed out my brochures I asked each person what group they were with and what they were trying to accomplish at the protest. Some people were with unions, Council of Canadians had a large contingent, there were people protesting poverty, some due to the implications for the healthcare industry, some farmers etc. What I had to say to one I had to say to all was, we are all here, protesting for the sake of one issue or another, but there was one issue that we all had in common, which is, we have no say at all in politicians decision making.

The fact that nothing came of the protest of 110,000 people proved my point, as did that eighteen years after the fact, we have less say than back then. The reason for me mentioning this is not to score points for myself, other than to build some credibility for myself; rather I hope that others will finally see the truth of what I have been saying all these years and for them to see the relevance of the need for us all to fight for a better democratic system of government, complete with Recall, Initiative and Referendum. I suspect that we will have to refuse to elect anyone associated with parties and opt to elect independents to get our Direct Representation features that we seek.

I point your minds to BC where former Premier Bill Vander Zalm and Chris Delaney of Fight HST reversed the unpopular HST by forcing a referendum on Premiere Gordon Campbell and the people won against the government. The win was made possible by the referendum laws that they had right to in BC.

Let’s not be naive here, we are going to start out by a fight for a Recall system, which the political parties will fight tooth and nail (why would they want to give power away?), but hey, the people of London England and the lower royalty did not get concessions from King John to sign the Magna Carta by being nice and politeness was not a major feature King John’s compliance. It was in your face defiance of the King that got the Rouge to sign what would be the western world’s first major landmark in democracy.

Update:  I am updating this blog on Jan. 13, 2013. Back in Aug. 26, 2011 the voters of BC voted down the HST. I contacted Bill Van der Zalm and was informed that the BC Liberal Government said that they need  a year(?) to change back to a GST Tax from the HST.

Published Friday, Aug. 26, 2011 9:03PM EDT
Last Updated Saturday, May. 19, 2012 5:46AM EDT

Voters in British Columbia have voted to dump the Harmonized Sales Tax after the results of a provincial referendum were released Friday. The tax has been ousted with 54.73 per cent of voters turning it down.
Reference page: http://www.ctvnews.ca/b-c-voters-kill-the-province-s-hst-in-referendum-1.688530#ixzz2HrNaudBR

An update as of Jan. 13/2013: In BC, there was a hard fought battle to get the number of names on a petition to get the Referendum, and then again in the campaign to win the Referendum. As of today

About pushinback

Back in 1993, I attended an anti-Nafta rally in Ottawa along with over 110,000 others. But despite the overwhelming opposition to NAFTA, the steamroller rolled on. It was there that I came to understand the one vital thing that I have been preaching ever since. There are so many issues, and so many fighting each issue, we are all spinning our wheels, and wasting our time, talents and energy, because each election, we give the politicians our power and so the deck is stacked against us. I said it that day and I say it with more fervency today. We all have one issue that we share, and we should all stop fighting for our own issues and losing anyways, and we should fight to achieve that one thing that we all share. We Canadians all have to fight to finally get a say between elections. We need to fight to make politicians accountable to us, the people. If there is no accountability, and the people have no say between elections, we have no Democracy. My Blog is written to teach the reader the essential knowledge of freedom and Democracy. Please read, and learn. I am one person, but I leave you my witness that one person is not powerless, only first you must first learn and then act. Let the democratic revolution begin. Kindest regards, Rob McQueen
This entry was posted in Democracy, Direct Democracy, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

