Think – So You Don’t Get Stuck in Another Box (20)


Essential Knowledge Needed to Grow a Democracy part 20

Think – Before You Move Into a New Box

If readers would like to be one that truly thinks out of the box, the route is to stop listening solely to sources in the box, and forsake looking for the security that comes with only friends that speak with your same opinions. Sure it is nice to have the security of having everything and everyone around you mirror you. Every punk, every rapper, every biker, reflect themselves, to be individually the same for security. It is hard to venture out to change or to be a real individual thinker, hey but that is what growing up is all about.The older you get the more you will realize, the only certainty in life is everything is changing. By coming to terms with this will help take you closer to seeing that being your best is the most satisfying way to live.

I have always thought that those that hold diametrically different opinions than my own sharpen my mind and help me see life in different set of eyes. Debates, with those of a counter view, are always more stimulating and fun; as long as you stop before you come to blows (haha).

Anyways, listen to sources of information that feature stories, issues and people that are out of the box. I would suggest a few of the sources that I am constantly listening to. And then I hear news stories from several different angles, from different people in and out side the story looking at the story. But I would like to add, I listen most closely to moderates, and third party sources. I watch the Agenda with Steven Paikin for a broad group of informed on lots of current and relevant stories. I have been a CBC 1 listener for more than 35 years. Many, many CBC shows are great to give  your  brain a workout. Some of my favourites are: Ontario Morning, The Current, Spark and the Sunday Edition, just to mention a few. Then there is the internet with BillMoyer.com.  Here is a Occupation connection site I’d like to add, http://beyondtherevolution.wordpresscom/ Magazines articles, such as this one  on spending on the American Presidential raise, give us insights we will not get talking to friends.  Sources like these give me understanding vital to my excitement to learn, and think and grow.

Here are 2 examples of 2 shows that gave me something that impacted me:

1. I was listening to Ontario Morning (a before work morning show) when I heard an item on Ontario’s Health Care System. The topic was inspired by the Ontario Health Minister setting a new direction for the Provinces Health Care. One guest spoke of something new being realized in Health Care, that is becoming more understood by other institutions as well; that it is becoming understood that the model of one super smart person at the top of an organization, who then dispenses policy from above is not working. There is a growing belief that a model of willingness to engage with the community, is a far better model of running institutions. As an institution goes out to stakeholders in the community partnerships begin popping up that broadens activities and encourages public volunteerism and ideas that far exceeds what the institution can do on its own.

Does this not give hope for the future and for the intelligence of people to correct previous error of thought?

2. I was listening to Sunday Edition, on CBC, when I heard an unknown economist speaking of rights and inequality in American Society. Now, we have heard it many times, equal pay for women, and blacks, and  rights for the handicapped, etc. Nothing new there. But there was a twist, rather 2. The first thing he argued was that the issue shouldn’t be whether women get less pay than men, the issue should be whether people, both men and women, get enough pay to live comfortably. This is right on, and no one is going to change policy until all the public and the government understand what the real problem is. Now his second part of his arguement was this, that the Democrats push for these equal rights, and so do the Republicans, but this is where it becomes really interesting; it is like the rights issue is used as a focal point to stop people from seeing farther to the issue of paying people a decent liveable wage. I do not know if the man would have gone so far as to say that it was a ploy by the rich corporate companies to get off without paying a decent wage, but what I remember him saying was that it is easy for corporation to give gender and  racial equality if you don’t also have to give people more money.

Anyways, these are only two of the marvelous interviews I have heard, or things I have read on the internet or seen on TV that makes one think far beyond the box, that most of the public feel quite freely to religate themselves to.

The question remains, did the rich, or society, or whoever design the box of common believed thought, or did we as a whole create it in our chosen ignorance? But the question then moves to, why do we then choose to live in that unbearable and unliveable box?

I have for over 40 years struggled to make Canadian society a better place in which to be. I have for my mature years ached for the world to be a better place; this blog is in part of the child of these, my desires. If I am permitted to be brutally frank and open to my feelings I would say this, if we are to have a better world, and go on to the next level of civilization, we must grow up as a society and learn about how the world could be, and to fight for that better world. Dreams fulfilled are not born of wishes, rather, only in being mature enough in freedom will we have the strength and determination to stay the course on the difficult road to victory. But I also will add, every new step is into a better place. Freedom is only a word until it is lived, and until it is lived it will remain a heartache of disappointment.

Here is a thought that I ask you to think about. We are like a bird that has flown into a cage, and while the door remains open, we choose to stay the cage. So, here now is the question to consider, would not the caged bird sing better if it lived in a tree of freedom?

I hope that this small thought will find the wings it needs, within you, to fly.

Signed,

Free bird looking at you.

About pushinback

Back in 1993, I attended an anti-Nafta rally in Ottawa along with over 110,000 others. But despite the overwhelming opposition to NAFTA, the steamroller rolled on. It was there that I came to understand the one vital thing that I have been preaching ever since. There are so many issues, and so many fighting each issue, we are all spinning our wheels, and wasting our time, talents and energy, because each election, we give the politicians our power and so the deck is stacked against us. I said it that day and I say it with more fervency today. We all have one issue that we share, and we should all stop fighting for our own issues and losing anyways, and we should fight to achieve that one thing that we all share. We Canadians all have to fight to finally get a say between elections. We need to fight to make politicians accountable to us, the people. If there is no accountability, and the people have no say between elections, we have no Democracy. My Blog is written to teach the reader the essential knowledge of freedom and Democracy. Please read, and learn. I am one person, but I leave you my witness that one person is not powerless, only first you must first learn and then act. Let the democratic revolution begin. Kindest regards, Rob McQueen
This entry was posted in Learning about Democracy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

