A Face of Activism 4


This is a letter that I wrote to my MP after the Omnibus vote in the Commons. My MP voted in tow with the Party Line and not in what I precieve as the best interests of his constituents. I include this letter, to be an example of how I, as a voter, should contact my representative to tell him/her what I feel. This is part of the democratic process. My MP needs to get feedback from his constituents, and to hold him to account for the times when we believe he screws up.

Politicians talk about them being accountable to us, that we can “kick them out” at the next election. But this is ridiculous when the next election is 4 years away and most peoples’ memories are about 2 days long, it is ridiculous accountability as well when you can kick them out next election and you only to give the other scoundrel party a feeding at the trough. We must contact our representatives or they will think they act in invisibility.

I know it is very frustrating but I believe that with enough constituents contacting our members we may exert enough pressure (the fear of not getting re-elected is their Achilles Heal) to get our members to stand up to the pressures of the Party Whip. Imagine if our member of Parliament had a thousand people as his/her constituency door every time he/she did something that was against the interest of the constituents. They would know that they will never get re-elected. And maybe then they would change.

Here is my letter to Ed Holder, MP for London Ontario.

Dear Ed Holden MP:

You are my MP, so when I heard you speaking on CBC (The House) my ears perked up and listened to what you had to say. As you know the topic was about how Conservative backbenchers seemed a bit intimidated by speaking up to Conservative Party Cabinet Ministers.

Inasmuch as I believe in true Democracy and believe that our representatives should directly reflect the voice of his/her constituents, I was thrilled to hear you say on The House that you are not at all timid in walking up to the Prime Minister and speaking to him……. Only, I went to your office to see how you voted on the Omnibus bill. It appears that although you are not afraid to speak to our PM on your constituents concerns, you are afraid to stand up and vote against a piece of legislation that sneaks in other pieces of legislation in that aught not be in an economic budget i.e. the environment, old age pension.

So that I was not just speaking behind your back, when I heard that you have voted against e v e r y amendment and along with the Party Line, in frustration I told your staffer, “ I know, the whip is harsh against one’s back”.

Next time I hear you gloat about you walking up to Stephan Harper (to give him a piece of your mind) I’ll know that you are likely complimenting him on his dazzling tie.

Yours truely,

Rob McQueen

Here is a picture of my MP, Ed Holder, Fighter for His Constituents.

About pushinback

Back in 1993, I attended an anti-Nafta rally in Ottawa along with over 110,000 others. But despite the overwhelming opposition to NAFTA, the steamroller rolled on. It was there that I came to understand the one vital thing that I have been preaching ever since. There are so many issues, and so many fighting each issue, we are all spinning our wheels, and wasting our time, talents and energy, because each election, we give the politicians our power and so the deck is stacked against us. I said it that day and I say it with more fervency today. We all have one issue that we share, and we should all stop fighting for our own issues and losing anyways, and we should fight to achieve that one thing that we all share. We Canadians all have to fight to finally get a say between elections. We need to fight to make politicians accountable to us, the people. If there is no accountability, and the people have no say between elections, we have no Democracy. My Blog is written to teach the reader the essential knowledge of freedom and Democracy. Please read, and learn. I am one person, but I leave you my witness that one person is not powerless, only first you must first learn and then act. Let the democratic revolution begin. Kindest regards, Rob McQueen
This entry was posted in Activism and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

