A Spiritual Message at Christmas


I didn’t feel right writing a political blog today, it being Christmas Day and all. Usually I put blogs of a religious nature on my other blog Thoughts and Discoveries, but freedom and spirituality are the two sides of the same coin, so I thought that I would add a spiritual message for Christmas. Some time in the future I will write a blog about how we got Democracy from the teachings of Christ, but I will leave that for another day.
My son, Aaron is serving a mission for the Church I attend, which is the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, or Mormon. He has been gone for 21 months now, and will be returning to Canada in 3 months. I thought inasmuch as he is a missionary I would use his Christmas message to the family as the body of my message and I would add a comment to the end of his. Here is his message to the friends and family he loves.
Hey everyone, Merry Christmas! 😀
I have been reflecting a lot on the Spirit of Christmas this week People spend months searching for the best gifts to give to friends and neighbours. I have reflected on what kind of gifts I could offer to friends and family if I were at home this Christmas. I read an article from the December Ensign that talked about what gifts the wise men gave the Savior and what gifts we can offer to the Savior to honor him at this time of Celebration. It lead me to ask ponder the question: if I could give the Savior any gift this Christmas, what would it be? And what would He want me to give Him?
“For I was an hungered, and ye gave me meat: I was thirsty, and ye gave me drink: I was a stranger, and ye took me in:”

“Naked, and ye clothed me: I was sick, and ye visited me: I was in prison, and ye came unto me”
“Then shall the righteous answer him, saying, Lord, when saw we thee an hungered, and fed thee? or thirsty, and gave thee drink?”
“When saw we thee a stranger, and took thee in? or naked, and clothed thee?”
“Or when saw we thee sick, or in prison, and came unto thee?”
“And the King shall answer and say unto them, Verily I say unto you, Inasmuch as ye have done it unto one of the least of these my brethren, ye have done it unto me”
As we seek to offer gifts to the Savior, let us realize that the best gifts we can offer are to the needy of the world, that He loved so much and that he came to save.
At this time of year, let us search out those who are in needy. In King Benjamin‘s final discourse (from the Book of Mormon) he summed up what it means to be a disciple of Christ in these words:
“And now, for the sake of these things which I have spoken unto you—that is, for the sake of retaining a remission of your sins from day to day, that ye may walk guiltless before God—I would that ye should impart of your substance to the poor, every man according to that which he hath, such as feeding the hungry, clothing the naked, visiting the sick and administering to their relief, both spiritually and temporally, according to their wants”
It is easy to get caught up in thinking about our own wants and needs at this time of year, but let us all be true disciples of Christ by looking outside of ourselves.
Have a very Merry Christmas! 🙂 Love you all
Elder Aaron Benjamin McQueen
I would like to add a thought here. It is a little known concept among Christians, but which comes straight from the Bible, but I will tell you how I first came to the thought before I learned the principle through the scriptures. I had first learned the lesson by living life. My parents left their home one day, but on the return to home their house was burned to the ground. The old house had burned within 2 hours. When they had left their home it very much seemed a reality, but it no longer was on their return. I learned from reflecting on that incident that we view material things as reality, but in reality even the bodies we inhabit will some day no longer be. So as I was reflecting on reality one day I read from the book of 2 Corinthians 4:18 (from the King James version)
While we look not at the things which are aseen, but at the things which are not seen: for the things which are seen are temporal; but the things which are not bseen are ceternal.
Paul is advising the Christian followers to understand the value of the unseen as being eternal, while the things that seen are  only temporal. As I equate this with my life experience I will use a different phrase; the thing I saw, the house was temporal, and not permanent, and not real in the eternal scheme of things. Then what is real if the seen things are not really real? This the strange thing of it, the things of life that are real are the things that are unseen. And isn’t it also true that the things of value are the things we do not see – love, of family and dear friends, kindness, compassion, friendship and a feeling of brotherly love to all people are unseen but very much real, and I will add satisfying to the spirit. These are the things that are so real and lasting and make life so worth living. I say stretch yourself out to be the best person you can be and give yourself away in the service of others. Another puzzle the scriptures give us, that is true is, if you give yourself away you will find yourself. Give yourself away in the service of others, and in doing kind things. It is only by unseen loving kindness that we can change our world. Jesus Christ is the example of how our action should be.
Merry Christmas to all my family, my friends and to you my dear readers.
Rob McQueen
 
About pushinback

Back in 1993, I attended an anti-Nafta rally in Ottawa along with over 110,000 others. But despite the overwhelming opposition to NAFTA, the steamroller rolled on. It was there that I came to understand the one vital thing that I have been preaching ever since. There are so many issues, and so many fighting each issue, we are all spinning our wheels, and wasting our time, talents and energy, because each election, we give the politicians our power and so the deck is stacked against us. I said it that day and I say it with more fervency today. We all have one issue that we share, and we should all stop fighting for our own issues and losing anyways, and we should fight to achieve that one thing that we all share. We Canadians all have to fight to finally get a say between elections. We need to fight to make politicians accountable to us, the people. If there is no accountability, and the people have no say between elections, we have no Democracy. My Blog is written to teach the reader the essential knowledge of freedom and Democracy. Please read, and learn. I am one person, but I leave you my witness that one person is not powerless, only first you must first learn and then act. Let the democratic revolution begin. Kindest regards, Rob McQueen
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

