What is Real?


Giant Girl at airportI have struggled with this post for almost 2 months now. I feel like I need to give warning, that this is not a post for those that are faint of mind.

Having said that, I pose the question to the reader, What is real? Reflecting on my past there were many stages of my mental capacity that determined my thinking and outlook on that question. As children we never put any thought of such questions; those questions were far ahead, the secrets held in our adult brains to come. But perhaps that is why the concept of death of a parent spooked us so much. We had no conception part of our brains as of yet. As a young adult, I like any normal person breezed along believing everything I saw in the real world until the day my parents left their home in the morning, only to come back to a house that was burned to the ground. It is not only the loss of all your stuff that devastates you, it is also the realization that the house that you lived in and trusted for shelter was no longer real. It was there one moment and then almost the next it was gone. So again, I ask the question, What is real?

The loss of even a sense of reality leaves a hole in your psyche. The lack of certainty of reality leaves a person in a vulnerable place. When floating in space there are no boundaries with nothing solid to stand on and it’s a scary place if you don’t quickly get something under your feet. The absence of certainty (reality) is a place where you fear for your sanity. I was there once. As a 17 year old I was in the wrong place at the wrong time and found myself in a remote place where 4 young, angry and drunk men beat me up and walked me into the bush where they said they were going to kill me. A place of fear, raw emotion and adrenaline is not a stable place to contemplate reality.

I once went snowmobiling with someone and was enjoying the experience in my denim jacket. I thought that we were going for a quick tour of our small town, he took us out into the forest miles away from town. I did not even realize that I was getting cold, becoming numb.We think of the body as reality, but there I felt the opposite of what we regard as reality, I was losing the sensation of touch and my sight was getting inattentive, as if my mind was only observing in half clarity. Then something real did kick in, I recognized that I was freezing to death and grasping on to that realization I struggled to motivating my shutting down body to rush into the bush to find wood, to prepare a fire and to light it, to save my life. The driver, drunk, was chatting with an acquaintance of his, not even aware of the emergency I was living. So from these 2 outposts of my existence I have come to understand the real tangible place. What we can touch and feel in life doesn’t necessarily really give me reality. It was not my hands that gave me reality. With my body alone, without intelligence, I would have frozen to death. That something in me that drove me to get heat, that was real.

This realization is a place leaving me in the air wanting for a sense of reality. For fear of insanity we adopt a pseudo reality, we grasp the things of our sensory world “as real”. This becomes our boundaries and the security of a comfort zone.

Now I recognize that I may have left you hanging in the air without anything to hold up your sense of Self, so I will not leave you like that. I will extend a plank for you to walk on. You can either walk off the end, or you can turn around and walk back to the edge of the cliff. Please walk to the edge toward me.

While we might come to the conclusion that what we touch and feel are not necessarily real there is reality in this World, but strangely it seems to contradict what we all grew up thinking. Reality is actually found in the things that are unseen. To many of us, God has proven Himself real. As well, love, friendship, kindness, family relationships are all within the boundaries of the real. If you look at what is satisfying, comforting, meaningful and worthwhile, it is these things. Sadly, I believe, it will be at our deathbed where we will have the clearest view of what was real in our lives. We will see the relationships that we fostered, or did not, that will bring us the peace in dying, or the torment of regret. This is where it becomes confusing about what is real; because what is real is unseen and the unseeen is hard to measure and to conceptualization. That is why we acclaim the tangible to be real because it is something we can touch, feel, hear and smell, there is some way to measure it. But here is how it gets to be confusing,  it is through the tangible world that we express the realities of the unseen world. We measure, conceptualize and experience of the unseen real through the shadowed actions of our bodies.

This is nothing new, and it is not my concept that I alone have come to understand. This truth was known thousands of years. The Apostle Paul in the Bible made an observation that I could see only after coming to this realization, he said “ …we look not at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen: for the things which are seen are temporal; but the things which are not seen are eternal” 2 Cor,4 : 18). He was saying, we, from our spiritual understanding (or our understanding from the spirit part of us) do not value the things that are seen, but we value the things that are unseen. And here is his rational for that determination; the things that are seen are temporal (being temporal we can add the concept of being temporary), but the things that are unseen are eternal, meaning permanent.

There is no sense speaking to a dead body, the real has left. And all the money the person amassed, the person’s house and all the possessions owned are left behind to the tangible world. But the memories and substance of love, goodness of character, the acts of kindness and the persons Nature go on with them into the great unknown. Many do not believe in an after world, but I will extend another plank for you to walk on; but they never explain how it is that people die and often many hours later come back to life.  ( http://www.lifeafterdeathexperiences.org/evidence-of-life-after-death/#more-83  )

So, how then are we to live. My best advise to you is still another Christian principle; give yourself away to find yourself. But in the context of what I have written, give away the wants of your physical Self in the service of others and you will find the core of who you are, your spiritual Self.

So here I am, a political blog writer; what in the world does the topic of reality have to do with politics? I answer, is this material world not the world where the 1% live? People amassing tens of millions of dollars a year and they still want more. The truth is some of these people want it all. Imagine this, 6 members of the Walton family (of Wal Mart fame) 6 Walmart Heirs Hold More Wealth Than 30% of Americans Combined. Source:  http://www.forbes.com/sites/timworstall/2011/12/14/six-waltons-have-more-wealth-than-the-bottom-30-of-americans/    What? That is crazy, but you don’t see the Waltons shutting down their Wal Mart stores. Rather, between 2005 and 2011Wal Mart added 3681 new stores to their money gobbling collection. And we find out from the same article, in Forbes Magazine.

Many of the Rich Elitists live lives almost solely through their stuff. They want more and more and would take it all from us, the 99% if they could. These are they that become cankered, empty people because their stuff cannot bring them happiness, or comfort, or any satisfaction of life and yet they seek for more and more; thinking in the madness that if I have more then I will be happy. It is surprising to us that in this empty cankered state they can continue to steal from those who are without homes, and with little food because their quest for more. It is like they have hunted down every strand of compassion in themselves and they have choked it out of themselves in the misdiagnosed quest for happiness.

So what is the message to the World, that the people, whether it is in Canada, or the US, or other parts of the free world must understand this principle, because the Rich Elitists are controlling OUR World in their unrealistic expectations and through their bottomless appetite for more and more, (if not all) and we, the people, must understand the problem in order to counteract their excess. We have to come to understand it, for our very own safety, and are we not getting to the point where the excess of our living is going use up all the resources that sustain us on this planet?

What do you think it was that caused the Great Depression? The Rich Elitists took more money out of the economy than the economy could handle. It was the poor that suffered as the Rich Elitists, that brought the Depression on, waited it out. Greed is also real. We must fight to control their greed, for our survival.

Lemons

Enhanced by Zemanta
About pushinback

Back in 1993, I attended an anti-Nafta rally in Ottawa along with over 110,000 others. But despite the overwhelming opposition to NAFTA, the steamroller rolled on. It was there that I came to understand the one vital thing that I have been preaching ever since. There are so many issues, and so many fighting each issue, we are all spinning our wheels, and wasting our time, talents and energy, because each election, we give the politicians our power and so the deck is stacked against us. I said it that day and I say it with more fervency today. We all have one issue that we share, and we should all stop fighting for our own issues and losing anyways, and we should fight to achieve that one thing that we all share. We Canadians all have to fight to finally get a say between elections. We need to fight to make politicians accountable to us, the people. If there is no accountability, and the people have no say between elections, we have no Democracy. My Blog is written to teach the reader the essential knowledge of freedom and Democracy. Please read, and learn. I am one person, but I leave you my witness that one person is not powerless, only first you must first learn and then act. Let the democratic revolution begin. Kindest regards, Rob McQueen
This entry was posted in 1% / 99%, Christian values and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What is Real?

  1. Pingback: The Decline of America | pushinback

Leave a Reply

