Lament for Confederation by Chief Dan |George


This just came across my Facebook news feed. Thanks to Fiona McMurran for posting it. I thought that I would post it on my blog to be a more permanent monument to the great Native peoples. This is a speech by Chief Dan George on the day of Canada’s 100th birthday. It is today 46 years from the day he first gave the speech. It was profound then, and it seems all the more certain that Chief Dan George could see clearly into the future.

I love the Native Peoples, and I hoped that this would be an inspiration to them, and a reminder to us non-Natives of the greatness that was among the Indigenous Peoples before the white man came.

I add my feelings here, in no unclear terms. I know that the prophesy that Chief Dan has spoken will surely come to pass. The colonial boot that put the Native People down, is being pushed aside. No longer will their faces be ground into the dirt, their confidence is rising with strong backs and strengthening resolves. They will never be put down again. This a warning to anyone who believe they can do it.

Here is the speech of Chief Dan George, in it’s entirety.

chief_dan_george 1

Lament for Confederation

How long have I known you, Oh Canada? A hundred years? Yes, a hundred years. And many, many seelanum more. And today, when you celebrate your hundred years, Oh Canada, I am sad for all the Indian people throughout the land.

For I have known you when your forests were mine; when they gave me my meat and my clothing. I have known you in your streams and rivers where your fish flashed and danced in the sun, where the waters said ‘come, come and eat of my abundance.’ I have known you in the freedom of the winds. And my spirit, like the winds, once roamed your good lands.

But in the long hundred years since the white man came, I have seen my freedom disappear like the salmon going mysteriously out to sea. The white man’s strange customs, which I could not understand, pressed down upon me until I could no longer breathe.

When I fought to protect my land and my home, I was called a savage. When I neither understood nor welcomed his way of life, I was called lazy. When I tried to rule my people, I was stripped of my authority.

My nation was ignored in your history textbooks – they were little more important in the history of Canada than the buffalo that ranged the plains. I was ridiculed in your plays and motion pictures, and when I drank your fire-water, I got drunk – very, very drunk. And I forgot.

Oh Canada, how can I celebrate with you this Centenary, this hundred years? Shall I thank you for the reserves that are left to me of my beautiful forests? For the canned fish of my rivers? For the loss of my pride and authority, even among my own people? For the lack of my will to fight back? No! I must forget what’s past and gone.

Oh God in heaven! Give me back the courage of the olden chiefs. Let me wrestle with my surroundings. Let me again, as in the days of old, dominate my environment. Let me humbly accept this new culture and through it rise up and go on.

Oh God! Like the thunderbird of old I shall rise again out of the sea; I shall grab the instruments of the white man’s success-his education, his skills- and with these new tools I shall build my race into the proudest segment of your society.

Before I follow the great chiefs who have gone before us, Oh Canada, I shall see these things come to pass. I shall see our young braves and our chiefs sitting in the houses of law and government, ruling and being ruled by the knowledge and freedoms of our great land.

So shall we shatter the barriers of our isolation. So shall the next hundred years be the greatest in the proud history of our tribes and nations.

© Copyright (c) The Vancouver Sun

Read more: http://www.vancouversun.com/This+history+July+1967/6876736/story.html#ixzz2XpXaGClv

This is the culture the White Man destroyed with their greed and their pride. It features the prophesy of Elder Red Cloud:    

http://

Related Articles:

Idle No More, From Protest to Change

https://pushinback.wordpress.com/2013/01/13/the-agenda-with-steve-paikin-idle-no-more-protest-to-change/

Idle No More Strikes a Chord of the Heart

https://pushinback.wordpress.com/2012/12/26/idlenomore-strikes-a-cord-of-the-heart/

About pushinback

Back in 1993, I attended an anti-Nafta rally in Ottawa along with over 110,000 others. But despite the overwhelming opposition to NAFTA, the steamroller rolled on. It was there that I came to understand the one vital thing that I have been preaching ever since. There are so many issues, and so many fighting each issue, we are all spinning our wheels, and wasting our time, talents and energy, because each election, we give the politicians our power and so the deck is stacked against us. I said it that day and I say it with more fervency today. We all have one issue that we share, and we should all stop fighting for our own issues and losing anyways, and we should fight to achieve that one thing that we all share. We Canadians all have to fight to finally get a say between elections. We need to fight to make politicians accountable to us, the people. If there is no accountability, and the people have no say between elections, we have no Democracy. My Blog is written to teach the reader the essential knowledge of freedom and Democracy. Please read, and learn. I am one person, but I leave you my witness that one person is not powerless, only first you must first learn and then act. Let the democratic revolution begin. Kindest regards, Rob McQueen
This entry was posted in Idle No More, Indigenous Teachings, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

