Most Likely to Cause a Revolution


school hall

You likely had them,  Initiation Day at your high school. The grade 9’s had to dress up and had to do stupid things. I had to go through it in grade 9 and hated the indignity of it, so when I got into grade 10 I felt a great empathy for the grade 9’s that were being abused that year. I felt great sympathy for them being forced to wear a costume of a diaper and baby clothes and I did not look kindly when I would see a grade 13er take a unkind notion to force the grade 9ers to scrub  bathroom floors with the toothbrush , or  balance a peanut on their noses.

Mix in my being political by nature, things were sure to happen. I began by going down the halls ahead of the grade 13ers and warning the grade 9 students to duck into classes to avoid the grade 13 students, and their impending doom should they be caught. But that was not good enough, I began a campaign of attempting to get the grade 9ers to refuse to do the silly little deeds exacted of them, and later it evolved into me holding little meetings to set up a revolt against the grade 13 masters.

By the end of the day I had garnered some success, a few grade 9’s did flatly refused to do what their superiors exacted of them, and I was pointed out, by a grade 13 girl, that had a locker near mine, and who thought that I was cute for a little grade 10 twerp.

Just before the end of the day 2 football player types, towered over me and in Gestapo fashion, strong armed me into the gym, to the kangaroo court, where the entire student body was assembled for  the grade 13’s final hoorah at intimidation. I was carried onto the stage in front of the assembly, confronted with my crimes of treason and sedition and without a lawyer to defend me, I had the sentence pronounce upon me, of being taped to a stool and had an onion taped to my nose.

At the end of the school year, that same girl that had pointed me out, was looking at our school yearbook, the Hubbub, and said to me, “the caption for you should be most likely to cause a revolution”. While I am a nobody, I do not lead a party or an organization, I am not interested in the glamor, I am more interested persuasion, and grassroots movements. But that girl was right, that is exactly what I am trying to do today; to bring about a quiet revolution of consciousness.

Tommy Douglas,  English: Tommy Douglas, former Premier of Sask...   past leader of the NDP Party, and considered the father to Canada’s  healthcare system, had shook my hand and he had gone out of his way to speak to me, an 8 year old boy, and he said, “when you get older you should get involved in politics”. He knew he was trying to plant a seed in me, but he is not here to see what grew of the seed he planted. Today I still can be found at my keyboard, or trying to promote one cause or other, but I write to change both Canada’s political system to a Swiss type Direct Democracy and also to have Canada go back to getting their money from the Bank of Canada (the Bank of Canada supplying debt-free money to Canada is the only sustainable economic system for Canada). The seed planted not only produced a habit of activity, but starting at a young age I had a thirst to learn what made Government tick, to study the bad and find the truths and the examples of what has worked well. I hope to offer my readers what I found in my more than 4 decades of grassroots activity and study. I hope to provide a  resource that cannot be found in the mainstream media or in the rhetoric of politician speeches; these two are married in a illusion of democracy while truth sits invisibly in the room. There it is, it’s waving to you.

My regular readers will have noticed that it has been some time since I wrote my last blog. I apologize, but I got a bit discouraged that my blogs popularity had not grown as quickly as I hoped, so I did some activist PR for Paul Hellyer (a former Deputy Prime Minister in Canada). So I am back writing; I recognize that my dream of a revolution to Canada’s economic and political systems will not come by me alone. My dream of a revolution is too big a dream to dream alone. Besides, who knows who it will be that makes the future changes, and all my readers are important to me. I love the wonderful messy process and discourse called Democracy.

On that note, I encourage those who find in my writing a source information that cannot be found in the world of illusion, I encourage you to send a link of my blogs to family and friends so they too can see through the smoke and mirrors of today’s political elites. If we are to get change it will be when we vote it in. Connecting the dots, we as a society must get to understand what could be politically, or we will forever be stuck with only what the political elitist, in their self interest, offer us. And aren’t you also sick of the trickle down from what our politician do for the 1%. The only thing stands between us and change is knowledge, and my dream of  a revolution will never come about if I continue to dream alone.

Kindest regards.

Other articles that will broaden your understanding of Democracy:

Is Your Representative an Elitist or a Democrat

https://pushinback.wordpress.com/2012/02/02/essential-knowledge-needed-to-grow-a-democracy-part-5/

Top Down or Bottom Up Democracy

https://pushinback.wordpress.com/2012/02/08/top-down-or-bottom-up-democracy-18/

The Bank of Canada Must Finance Our Country

https://pushinback.wordpress.com/2012/09/23/571/

About pushinback

Back in 1993, I attended an anti-Nafta rally in Ottawa along with over 110,000 others. But despite the overwhelming opposition to NAFTA, the steamroller rolled on. It was there that I came to understand the one vital thing that I have been preaching ever since. There are so many issues, and so many fighting each issue, we are all spinning our wheels, and wasting our time, talents and energy, because each election, we give the politicians our power and so the deck is stacked against us. I said it that day and I say it with more fervency today. We all have one issue that we share, and we should all stop fighting for our own issues and losing anyways, and we should fight to achieve that one thing that we all share. We Canadians all have to fight to finally get a say between elections. We need to fight to make politicians accountable to us, the people. If there is no accountability, and the people have no say between elections, we have no Democracy. My Blog is written to teach the reader the essential knowledge of freedom and Democracy. Please read, and learn. I am one person, but I leave you my witness that one person is not powerless, only first you must first learn and then act. Let the democratic revolution begin. Kindest regards, Rob McQueen
This entry was posted in 1% / 99%, Canadian Politics, Democracy, Direct Democracy, Economic / Financial / Bank of Canada, Esencial Information for Democracy, Swiss System of Gov't and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

