A Question for a Voter that is Experimentally Inclined


 

English: Ballot Box showing preferential voting

English: Ballot Box showing preferential voting (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Rob McQueen here. I have a question for anyone that is voter experimentally inclined. In one election, I asked a polling clerk “whose ballot is this”. He said “it is your ballot”. To which I said “I mean, whosssse ballot is this?” and for clarity I asked “Is it my possession? Does that mean that I could walk out of this polling station with my ballot as a protest? A missing ballot would send a clearer message than me declining my ballot. My declined ballot would be simply forgotten with the others”.

My thinking is ,have you ever heard on election night, Joe Blow for the Conservatives got ________ votes, Jane Doe for the Liberals got ____ , the NDP_____……. and there were 111 declined ballots and ballots with protest messages on their ballots). Who knows how many ballots are protests? Election Ontario/Canada doesn’t care, the media, they don’t care, everyone is simply wanting to get on with the illusion of Democracy (Election) and to get to the winners and mostly losers.

Back to the polling clerk, to which he told me that it would be considered a theft” and then he proceeded to get some big guy to stand at the door to make sure that I didn’t walk out with the ballot.

My wife told me that “they think that you are crazy?”, to which I say, “if I didn’t understand the intricacies of the system I wouldn’t be able to think it through to ask the question, whose ballot is it? Is the ballot my possession or is the ballot on loan to me until I mark my ballot?” Who says we have to play by their rules, oh, that’s right we don’t have a say anyways, and it’s apparent that now goes for OUR election as well.

So, whose ballot is it, mine …….. and yours, or does the ballot belong to the Government, and they, as usual, with a minimum of thinking, declare that they are our ballots? Is it that they have done the minimum of thinking, or is it that they think that we are too stupid to think this far. The point is critical because if I ended up in Court for a stolen ballot this is the very point that it will come down to and whether the Judge will find me guilty of a real offense, or not. Perhaps it will come down to the same point, as was found in a BC Courtroom, where protesters were charged with destroying their ballots, they set up blenders with orange juice in them, threw their ballots in, pressed puree and walla, flavourful drink. I’m sure they raised a glass in toast to their splendid protest.

I remind you that this really happened. The protesters were arrested and had their day in Court and what did it come down to? The Judge asked the Prosecutor, “What is the value of this ballot?” There was no real value to the ballot, so the determination had to be brought down to the cost of the paper and printing. It was determined the ballot would have been less than a dollar, to whit, the Judge said that while he is making judgements on cars etc. being stolen, that he didn’t have the time to try a case where the value of the destruction was so little.

Another thought. I have actually declined my ballot several times, three times to be exact. In the last 11 elections I have only voted for a human 3 times. Doing the math, I have spoiled my ballot by writing on it 5 times. I debated on the effectiveness of the declined ballot and decided that no one even knows what ticks me off. So I began writing on my ballot so that at least the Scrutineers, that count the ballots after the polling is done, would know and hopefully tell their candidates.

I am actually thinking of setting up a mock polling station outside of a polling station as a demonstration. That way those who decide to protest the system, or the lack of good candidates, or even that there JUST ISN’T ANYONE PARTY WITH ANY DECENT IDEAS OUT THERE, they could come to my polling booth and then we could read out our reasons for our discontent. Elections Ontario has not yet provided us with a way to make our declined ballot count, or a way to express our reasoning for our discontent. This would give voice to the voiceless. Is there anyone out there that is with me?

I put it out to the angry voters, be creative in your voting, and enjoy the only day that the politicians actually want your input. Ontarians, enjoy your Democracy Day.

Enhanced by Zemanta
About pushinback

Back in 1993, I attended an anti-Nafta rally in Ottawa along with over 110,000 others. But despite the overwhelming opposition to NAFTA, the steamroller rolled on. It was there that I came to understand the one vital thing that I have been preaching ever since. There are so many issues, and so many fighting each issue, we are all spinning our wheels, and wasting our time, talents and energy, because each election, we give the politicians our power and so the deck is stacked against us. I said it that day and I say it with more fervency today. We all have one issue that we share, and we should all stop fighting for our own issues and losing anyways, and we should fight to achieve that one thing that we all share. We Canadians all have to fight to finally get a say between elections. We need to fight to make politicians accountable to us, the people. If there is no accountability, and the people have no say between elections, we have no Democracy. My Blog is written to teach the reader the essential knowledge of freedom and Democracy. Please read, and learn. I am one person, but I leave you my witness that one person is not powerless, only first you must first learn and then act. Let the democratic revolution begin. Kindest regards, Rob McQueen
This entry was posted in Canadian Politics, For funn and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Question for a Voter that is Experimentally Inclined

  1. M L Stathers says:

    I heard many years ago that ballots cast in the ‘advance’ voting day opportunity are NEVER COUNTED unless there is a very close count. That would mean that the advance poll is pretty useless. .. I actually think it MIGHT make a different outcome.

  2. Pingback: I Am the Man With 2 Heads | pushinback

  3. mummybites says:

    Have you checked out the libertarian platform? It may be closest to what you’re going for: Freedom.

    • pushinback says:

      I would agree with your assessment on the Libertarian, however I do not know if they believe in the Party System. I believe that is one of the fundamental flaws in our present so-called Democracy. I would appreciate knowing your thoughts on my statement.

Leave a Reply

