The Spoiled Ballot Option Missing


Today is another election  in Ontario. This will be my 12th election since I began protesting the present Party System election. You know, the parties take control of the election, the people ignore the goings on until the final days, at which time they have to take a little notice, well enough to get in the ballot box to make their tick and do the only democratic act until next election. It is also interesting that this is the only day the politicians want anything from us, they beg for us to vote for them and then after the election they are not interested in hearing from us. Our Servants, really?

So we get to vote, a big whoppy, it is the proof that we have a democracy. Really? So, what do we do if there is no one to vote for; no one worthy of our vote.

I used to ask each candidate one question, and one question only, to determine if that person is worthy of our vote. I asked ” If there is an issue where your constituents think one way and your party thinks a different way, who will you align your vote with, the people, or your party. If the person doesn’t immediately say that they are there for the people I will tell the candidate that he/she is not worth of my vote, and that he/she is not democratic. Then, if there is no one to vote for I will decline my ballot, or more often than not I will spoil my ballot by writing on it. I write on the ballot “None of these people will represent me, rather, they will merely promote the party that they are affiliated with.” And to foil such people as me, the ballot will be in negative, where everything is black except the writing of the names and the circle to make my X. So, not being deterred, I write on the outside of the ballot. I perfer this method to the lame Declined Ballot method, because although the declined ballot is counted, who knows what upsets me, the candidates, the system, or that I ate some cheese last night, so being constipated I’m a bit grumpy that day.

So, my question is, Why isn’t there a systematic place for the spoiled ballot? Is there really a democratic vote without a place for, “None of the above” and a place you can write a message, ” I do not think that the Party System is Democratic”, or, “There was no one that I fat felt I could vote for”. Until we get new ballot that gives disgruntle voters like me the option of a protest vote, we will see the continued decline in voters that believe that voting is a waste of time and that they have no say anyways. It is true. Until Elections Ontario/  Elections Canada do make these changes to the ballots we will continue to have elections still controlled by politician, for the sole purposes of the politicians.

PS. Being tired of politicians doing all the activities during the Ontario Election, I made up my own signs an put them about town. I will be writing a post on that soon.

 

About pushinback

Back in 1993, I attended an anti-Nafta rally in Ottawa along with over 110,000 others. But despite the overwhelming opposition to NAFTA, the steamroller rolled on. It was there that I came to understand the one vital thing that I have been preaching ever since. There are so many issues, and so many fighting each issue, we are all spinning our wheels, and wasting our time, talents and energy, because each election, we give the politicians our power and so the deck is stacked against us. I said it that day and I say it with more fervency today. We all have one issue that we share, and we should all stop fighting for our own issues and losing anyways, and we should fight to achieve that one thing that we all share. We Canadians all have to fight to finally get a say between elections. We need to fight to make politicians accountable to us, the people. If there is no accountability, and the people have no say between elections, we have no Democracy. My Blog is written to teach the reader the essential knowledge of freedom and Democracy. Please read, and learn. I am one person, but I leave you my witness that one person is not powerless, only first you must first learn and then act. Let the democratic revolution begin. Kindest regards, Rob McQueen
This entry was posted in Activism, Democracy, Esencial Information for Democracy. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Spoiled Ballot Option Missing

    • pushinback says:

      I am found; I am the elusive and shake up the political world, Rob McQueen. I do not believe our present pseudo democracy, but I refuse to lie with all the other sleepers. If I can, I would thoroughly trash our party corrupted political system. Democracy anyone.

  1. Pingback: Secret Signs of Democracy Part 2 | found footage

Leave a Reply

