Enter the New Dimension of Democracy


Democracy is 1

Enter Into the New Dimension of Democracy and Elections

We are all trapped in the bounds of our thoughts. The universe of life is without visible limits, yet we cannot seem to see beyond the limits of our actions, those that we have previously constructed by our thoughts which are attached to our limited experience. Freedom is sometimes the product of us cutting a hole in the fears that keep us contained – slicing through the bubble of our comfort zone. We have to recognize that we frame the limits to keep us safe, but sometimes comfort zones also enslave us to a dangerous place if safe is really somewhere beyond where we presently are.

Or is it the laziness of thought that has kept us trapped? You decide what keeps you entangled to to your old you.

But if we were to cut a window to look out, or better still, a door though which we can walk through into the open air of new ideas, then you do something about the trap. Paradigms die in such places as these.

Enter the New Dimension of Elections. We have had a wall that has shut the public from participation in elections. Our politicians have set the trap, a mantra, “We have democracy – see, we have elections”. Meanwhile democracy is much more than elections. Democracy is where the people have a real say in the way their country is run, and the true sign of a democracy is where the People have a say between election. Chasing the public down for a vote for them has nothing to do with democracy. It has more to do with the domination of an old paradigm and our enslavement to a lousy democracy.

We see the sea of candidate signs cluttering the scenery, the confounding of our thoughts, and encroaching upon our democracy. That sea of signs not only entice us to vote for the candidate whose name appears on the sign, but as well, the sheer numbers overwhelm us, they on mass become a wall to us participating in our own democratic process.

We must come to see clearly, our democracy doesn’t belong to the politicians, it is ours. It only seems that it is theirs because they stake out the whole territory and we, by our lack of understanding, or laziness let them claim the prize. That is why I decided to put up signs of my own in the last Federal Election and moreso during the past Ontario Election. In my putting up my own signs I was physically staking my claim to my right to participate in the process of the election and our democracy.

100_3966 The Only Sign I Want to See

There was some evidence that the politicians also recognized the nuance of my actions.  The Party people, at least on a subconscious level, understood the bounds I had crossed. At first I put up 5 signs, 3 said “Democracy is the People have a say between elections”.  Of that first 5 signs I staked, one was broken in half, and the 2 other signs were detached from their supports and they were thrown down in the bushes. The sign in the above picture was tossed into the trees – 1/2 ” plywood is a bit had to break). It should be noted that the nearby candidate signs were untouched (see the picture at the top of the page). It is unclear why a member of the general public would be disturbed by my message or my sign. Refining my strategy I began staking signs up in busy street corners of the city, so it would be much more difficult to tamper with my signs without being noticed. The remainder of my signs were untouched. I also decided to leave my signs up for a few days after the election. My signs were not particularly about the election, more they were about democracy.

Broken Sign Democracy is

I have decided that there is no time that I am limited to to put up my signs, democracy is ongoing and we must always be on the lookout for more opportunities to put out our message. Months before the election, during the winter, I put signs on the back of my vehicle; marked in the slush dried on my car’s back window. Many people agreed with the sentiments of my message;  “Tired of Winter….. and Harper. Often people read the sign and gave me a thumbs up. Although my latest version has wiped away as surely as the slush of the winter, I will revisit the revised message next year, which read….”Tired of Winter…and Harper….both are cold”. I write it this way because it is a bit of a trap… Tired of Winter (in the throws of winter, everyone agrees. And then the person reads and Harper, that surprises them and they  are already half way to being on your side with the first statement…. and then with a joke … they are both cold.

Tired of Winter and Harper

In the past I wrote a blog suggesting that the people need to go toe to toe with politicians. There are many segments of the public that take various stances on activities in politics. There are those that have no interest, those that are on the politic party thinking side of the political divide and there are the activists that take a non-partisan, grassroots view of the issues. How I feel the Activists have failed is, 1. they have not left their own issue silos and have not been united in the imperative issue of protecting and enhancing our Democracy, and 2. they have taken a position of asking,  or  begging for recognition and to be heard. My standpoint is much more in the face, I do not feel we should trifle with a position were we ask, or worse, beg for our representatives to hear us. From the long years I have been involved in politics I recognize that it is our right to be served in a healthy democratic process, therefore, I take the position of not asking, I tell my representatives what I want, and informing my representatives how democracy is supposed to operate, giving them suggestions how they could act, as my representative, more democratically.

I don’t apologize, for my oppinion, but there are Activists – they are not afraid to get into the politicians faces, and then there are the Talktavists that merely talk about politicians, their rights and what democracy is. The Activist acts like he/she already has the rights and are merely waiting to excise the right to use them. Everyone else are Inactivists. I think that it is time to put the name out there….Inactivists, because it is a comment about them, from me it is a voice of scorn, and intolerance. They are leaving a disgusting world to their children and their grandchildren, and they deserve to hear it from me. It is better to hear it from me, than their children and their children and their grandchildren who will, in the time of their great trouble, ask their parents and their grandparents, “What did you do to protect us from this world of little freedoms”.

This  putting up signs also becomes a training to our representatives, having examples of things that they have not yet confided, and to which that their parties are sure as h___ not teaching them. (My next blog will give an example of my latest correspondence with a good Parliamentary representative).

The nuance of asking for our rights to be heard compared to demanding/insisting that our rights are respected is very important. We can also see it in the difference of begging compared to asking; it is a matter assertiveness and maturity. It a matter of the standing of equals, not of us below asking to those above us. If we, as Activists, can influence an army of demanding voters we will find our tipping point of power returning to the power of true democracy to the people and away from power establishment of the party system.

Now add persistence and we’ve really got the formula of change.

The Post I referred to, to engage with our representative:

https://pushinback.wordpress.com/2014/07/19/talk-to-your-representative/

This is an article about the depravity of the Party System. It is called, Not My Idea of a Party.

http://https://pushinback.wordpress.com/2013/06/02/the-party-system-an-illusion-of-a-democracy-9/

 

 

About pushinback

Back in 1993, I attended an anti-Nafta rally in Ottawa along with over 110,000 others. But despite the overwhelming opposition to NAFTA, the steamroller rolled on. It was there that I came to understand the one vital thing that I have been preaching ever since. There are so many issues, and so many fighting each issue, we are all spinning our wheels, and wasting our time, talents and energy, because each election, we give the politicians our power and so the deck is stacked against us. I said it that day and I say it with more fervency today. We all have one issue that we share, and we should all stop fighting for our own issues and losing anyways, and we should fight to achieve that one thing that we all share. We Canadians all have to fight to finally get a say between elections. We need to fight to make politicians accountable to us, the people. If there is no accountability, and the people have no say between elections, we have no Democracy. My Blog is written to teach the reader the essential knowledge of freedom and Democracy. Please read, and learn. I am one person, but I leave you my witness that one person is not powerless, only first you must first learn and then act. Let the democratic revolution begin. Kindest regards, Rob McQueen
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Enter the New Dimension of Democracy

  1. marylouise stathers says:

    We have written many, many letters, answered many of those queries free-mailed into our post box, & have NEVER received anything more than a BOILER-POT type of reply to a valid question. … it is like those interviews after a commons session with 3 different party reps: the Conservative rep is repeating & repeating the same party line like a puppet (we believe if each remark were to be overlaid it would result in a pile of the same words!) … it is hilarious! Unfortunately our busy friends absolutely have no time or inclination to drill down into the bottom of an issue – READ THE FINE PRINT – and they refuse to discuss another view. 😣

    Date: Sat, 19 Jul 2014 14:52:23 +0000
    To: mlstathers@live.ca

    • pushinback says:

      I am impressed that you are using the democractic procedures that are what all citizens should do. Please don’t get discouraged. Get involved in a group if you haven’t up until now. Others can console you and help you continue. Keep up the fight. There is nobility in a good fight.

  2. Pingback: Hits to my Posts are Up, and Growing | pushinback

  3. Pingback: I Am the Man With 2 Heads | pushinback

  4. Pingback: The Signs of Democracy. | pushinback

Leave a Reply

