A Detour in Activism


Dermatophytosis

Dermatophytosis (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

To let some of my readers know, I have taken a detour in activism. I have become very active in teaching in my community how to use weeds/herbs in their own backyards for medicine. Imagine that, the very weeds that you might be standing on while you cook on your Barbee might be the very plant that heals you of you flu, or headache, or depression.

It is not just that herbs work, because they do, it is also a major swipe at the Pharmaceutical Industry.

It began long ago, when I was 12 exactly, when I contracted ringworm. That is a fungal disease to the skin, and it made a large scab almost the whole left cheek (on my face smart ass). Anyways, I went to the doctor because I couldn’t go to school. Three times the doctor gave me a prescription for ringworm salves and 3 times the salves failed to heal the ringworm. I went back the 4th time and I was told there was nothing else that he could give me, and that was after I told him that I wasn’t allowed to go to school and would lose my year.

Dad took me home, and strangely enough a Fuller Brush man came to our home the next night. Sure, I have an Athlete’s Foot spray that will solve your problem. Ringworm is in the same family as Athlete’s Foot, only he neglected to tell us that the spray was 95% alcohol and when I sprayed it on my face it entered the cracks in the scabbing and stung in my flesh. The over-spray also got into my eyes, and after a week of that I realized that I could not go on torturing myself like that. I sat down and thought about it; cows have Ringworm in the Winter, but they get rid of it in the Spring and they don’t have Ringworm in the Summer or the Fall; what is the difference? Well, in the Winter they eat hay, but in the Spring, Summer and Fall they eat grass in the fields. I knew that the hay must be deficient in some nutrients which they got in the Spring in the grass.

I dug down under the snow and I got a handful of grass. I threw away the dead grass and I ate the still green grass. 2 days later I again ate a handful of grass and by the end of the week the scabbing was falling off and my skin was healing.

So, 2 things came of it, 1. that I didn’t trust doctors; that was an old farm community doctor and surely he had treated other farmers for Ringworm. Why could he be able to figure out the cure for Ringworm, grass, when I, a mere 12 year old could. The second thing I learned was that there must be herbs that could solve our health issues.

It made total sense to me, because 4 years previous to this incident, my father had moved our family out of Toronto and to a remote farm, where my closest friend lived a mile away, a busy farm-boy, and right across the road was 2 square miles of forest. For 4 years I had run around that forest, thinking in my young mind, that I was a little Indian kid. Natives had become my heroes. So here I am 50 years later still using herbs, and since that time I have had the flu, pneumonia, bronchitis, strep throat, sinus infection, and once I have had badly swollen leg from a fall off a 18 foot ladder and once a swollen hand when my hand broke the fall off some scaffolding. The calf, swollen to twice it’s normal size was back to it’s normal size in 4 days and I could walk on the foot. And in the case of the hand, I couldn’t write my rent cheque and 1 1/2 days later I was back squeezing a trowel in my hand ( I am a drywall taper by trade).

That is my story, and in the 50 years of learning, and particularly after the poultices healed those swollen members, I thought that I have a lot to teach this World that has forgotten about the use of herbs for healing, and which is becoming ever more disenchanted with doctors whom have mainly taken up the role of peddling pharmaceutical drugs, making their CEO’s wealthy beyond what anyone could sensibly need.

Pleas share this story if it resonates with you, and if you also are disenchanted with modern medical practices. More stories of herbs will follow.

About pushinback

Back in 1993, I attended an anti-Nafta rally in Ottawa along with over 110,000 others. But despite the overwhelming opposition to NAFTA, the steamroller rolled on. It was there that I came to understand the one vital thing that I have been preaching ever since. There are so many issues, and so many fighting each issue, we are all spinning our wheels, and wasting our time, talents and energy, because each election, we give the politicians our power and so the deck is stacked against us. I said it that day and I say it with more fervency today. We all have one issue that we share, and we should all stop fighting for our own issues and losing anyways, and we should fight to achieve that one thing that we all share. We Canadians all have to fight to finally get a say between elections. We need to fight to make politicians accountable to us, the people. If there is no accountability, and the people have no say between elections, we have no Democracy. My Blog is written to teach the reader the essential knowledge of freedom and Democracy. Please read, and learn. I am one person, but I leave you my witness that one person is not powerless, only first you must first learn and then act. Let the democratic revolution begin. Kindest regards, Rob McQueen
This entry was posted in Herb and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Detour in Activism

  1. M L Stathers says:

    Yes, the natural creatures & First nations have found their own ways … Thankyou.

  2. Pingback: Teaching About Herbs – As a Political Force | pushinback

Leave a Reply

