Have the Guts to Be a GMO Activist


Have the guts to be a GMO activist.

 

I wrote something on Facebook that I got very little response over; something that I had  hoped that many would have agreed with, shared and also would have done. I quoted the fact that 40% of all sweet corn was GMO corn (http://www.nongmoproject.org/2012/08/29/gmo-sweet-corn-anything-but-sweet/),English: A display of six ears of field corn w...

and that if people didn’t want to be eating GMO corn in the future they should do this. Every time they stop to buy corn from a farmer’s stand, before you buy the corn, ask him if his corn is GMO. Tell him that you won’t buy GMO corn. That is the same with corn from the grocery store. I ask the manager of the produce department if the corn is GMO and if he doesn’t know I tell him that I won’t buy the corn because I won’t buy GMO corn. If the produce manager doesn’t know if the corn is GMO, I ask for the head office’s phone number and I phone them to ask them. This way, at all levels, they have been told that I will not buy GMO produce. Now, multiply that by thousands of consumers asking them the same question of the same farmer, the same store, do you think that they will get the message that the public DO NOT WANT GMO PRODUCTS?
We have to stop the demand for GMO produce.

I know, I am a gardener, every spring every gardener or farmer sits down with a seed catalogue to buy his/her seed. With sound of thousands of customer’s questions ringing in his ears, do you think that he will buy the GMO seeds?

And every summer when grocery stores begin to make orders of corn from local farmers, do you think they will ask the farmers if the corn is GMO? And maybe if farmer A grew GMO corn the local store doesn’t buy the corn from him/her and instead buy the corn from farmer B, do you think that farmer A  will grow GMO corn the next year?

Sweet corn could be our front line to stop GMO produce.

So, have the guts to be a GMO Activist; it is pathetic of people if they are too embarrassed or shy to ask the question of farmers, the local produce manager, or the company’s head office. Your silence, meaning your lack of doing anything deemed political, could end up poisoning us all.

 

 

 

 

About pushinback

Back in 1993, I attended an anti-Nafta rally in Ottawa along with over 110,000 others. But despite the overwhelming opposition to NAFTA, the steamroller rolled on. It was there that I came to understand the one vital thing that I have been preaching ever since. There are so many issues, and so many fighting each issue, we are all spinning our wheels, and wasting our time, talents and energy, because each election, we give the politicians our power and so the deck is stacked against us. I said it that day and I say it with more fervency today. We all have one issue that we share, and we should all stop fighting for our own issues and losing anyways, and we should fight to achieve that one thing that we all share. We Canadians all have to fight to finally get a say between elections. We need to fight to make politicians accountable to us, the people. If there is no accountability, and the people have no say between elections, we have no Democracy. My Blog is written to teach the reader the essential knowledge of freedom and Democracy. Please read, and learn. I am one person, but I leave you my witness that one person is not powerless, only first you must first learn and then act. Let the democratic revolution begin. Kindest regards, Rob McQueen
This entry was posted in Activism, Food Issues, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

