I’m Back and Alive Too


Perhaps there have been some of my readers that have wondered why I haven’t posted anything the last few months. About 2 months ago I moved out of my place and I started living in my van, and this is where many will believe me to be mad, most of that time was in conditions of minus temperatures; many of those days were in the minus 15 degree Celsius range. I understand that sounds crazy, but as a boy I lived on a farm where I lived across the road from 2 square miles of bush, which tempered my personality and molded me, in a large measure, to be who I am. I am who I am largely because of the 8 years of running around the forest and learning about Nature, much of the time by myself. To jump into this, I understand Nature as the teacher, and moving into my van in the cold weather I was self imposing myself to Nature to teach me. To help you move to an understanding, we see shows where guys get dropped into inhospitable places and the show is about how that guy survives. He survives because he has a different set of skills that the modern Man has, and he has learned to survive those conditions because he also has a different mind set than the City dweller. We admire the I am not sure what most of you are thinking, but most people admire the guy although you don’t come close to understand what sets you apart from him. Having lived like that somewhat, as a boy, I understand somewhat of what he understands.

I knew that me subjecting my Self (in my own philosophy Self, is the person that is my core, or the real me) to the harshness of the elements it would force me into my core of who I am. And being a natural creature that I am, I understand the ways of Nature as a teacher. She teaches with such a harshness, but that is 100% devoid of emotion. People that learn with people involves get into  emotional entanglements that cloud and confuse what you are learning. Nature, She is different, She will kill you if you challenge Her and you do not learn. I don’t want to suggest that I was doing anything so reckless as to put my life in jeopardy, because I didn’t put myself that deeply in harms way, but my subjecting my Self to the elements was self imposing my Self to Nature’s tools to change me.

The harshness of the elements force a person into their Core, and from the Core you can see the World in a different way, at this point you are in a state of survival, and although I didn’t take myself into a state of danger I was non-the-less living within a state of survival mode, always being cold and secondarily, in a state of deprivation of stimulus other than the cold.

A very wise Neal A. Maxwell once said “ Don’t go through a trial, grow through it”. He went on to explain that trials are tools of growth, and we would be wise to let the trial full sway in our lives, as to allow the trial to change us, such that we grow from it.

The Native Peoples are a product of this teaching. Even after generations of White Man’s abuse, they still hold an essence of being natural and tied to the Earth and Water. Their instinct to protect the Earth and Water if much more acute in them than most other groups of people understand. Natives both learned from Nature, but they also had the wisdom to teach their teachings to their children, in ways that were in harmony with Nature’s teachings. Those teachings were so strong that generations later most Native Peoples have not totally been stripped from them.

To put a plug in for the Native Peoples, I believe that non-Natives see the Native Peoples, with their different way of thinking, and they perhaps interpret that difference as a primitiveness. But I am confident in my assertion that we, non-Natives would live a life closer to the philosophy of the Native People, we would have a different and better World today. If the Whites, that first had contact with the Native Peoples, would have understood the Native wisdom and adopted much of the Native ways, rather than thinking that the Native’s difference was a primitiveness, we would have a better World today. Likely we wouldn’t have the massive degree of pollution that we are experiencing today. The fact that we are set on a course where we will use up all our necessary resources and that people are increasingly getting sick from pollution related ailments should tell us that WE are the wrong course and it is not they that are unwise. It was early in Europe that the philosophy of taming and controlling Nature developed. Harmony with Nature had pretty much been lived out of them even in those very early times. And, if you think about it there has always been a 1% like group controlling the World.

It is not too late for us though, when I was a boy I ran around the farm with no shoes on. My feet got so calloused that by the end of the summer I could run on the gravel roads without hurting my feet. This demonstrates the fact that our European bodies are able to adapt to Nature, it is our minds that get into the way of Natural living, our lack of exposure and understanding that keep us foreign to being natural thinkers.

Getting back to me and my madness of forcing my Self into this state of learning, what was the valued fruits of such self inflicted abuse? I know my Self better than before and I am more at peace within. I am more certain of myself, and more resolute, and more at one within. I am more in tune with my Self on the journey that I travel, and much more forgiving of myself. I feel that I am strengthened in my determination, clearer in my aspirations, and more willing to sacrifice.

So what is the reason for me doing this? You only have to take a serious look at the World;  Monsanto is continually bring out more products that do not get tested for their safety on human health, our Canadian, and American Governments are not protecting us against these possible harm on the health of Canadian citizens (as also in the US). Our Governments have admitted checking our emails, which a direct infraction on our Rights and Freedoms. We watch the whole World struggling in a class struggle with the inequity of the Super Rich with the rest of us, and the struggle of the People against can only be construed as our Governments siding to protect the interests of the 1%. And I know that the vast majority of people of the World feel like something is coming, there has to be a change and a correction in our Democratic direction. If every citizen was engaged as they should be, to protect and maintain our freedoms I could live and enjoy a relatively normal life, but the masses have decided to sleep in our crucial hours. I have chosen not to sleep, but to make myself ever more vigilant in my attempt to give my children, my grandchildren, and onward into the future, as good and safe World as I had when I was a young person. Because most have chosen to sleep at a time that the Super Rich, with their insatiable lust for money, rush lemming consumers to the cliff of resource extinction,I have chosen to double my efforts toward political change.

About pushinback

Back in 1993, I attended an anti-Nafta rally in Ottawa along with over 110,000 others. But despite the overwhelming opposition to NAFTA, the steamroller rolled on. It was there that I came to understand the one vital thing that I have been preaching ever since. There are so many issues, and so many fighting each issue, we are all spinning our wheels, and wasting our time, talents and energy, because each election, we give the politicians our power and so the deck is stacked against us. I said it that day and I say it with more fervency today. We all have one issue that we share, and we should all stop fighting for our own issues and losing anyways, and we should fight to achieve that one thing that we all share. We Canadians all have to fight to finally get a say between elections. We need to fight to make politicians accountable to us, the people. If there is no accountability, and the people have no say between elections, we have no Democracy. My Blog is written to teach the reader the essential knowledge of freedom and Democracy. Please read, and learn. I am one person, but I leave you my witness that one person is not powerless, only first you must first learn and then act. Let the democratic revolution begin. Kindest regards, Rob McQueen
This entry was posted in Activism. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

