I Rewrote a Petition


1891 Suffrage Petition5I thought that I would begin my article with this picture. It might be of especial interest, or especial meaning to any ladies that might be reading my article. The picture above is a photo of signatures of the 1891 Sufferage struggle. I include this to show how nothing comes without great struggle, or without bravery, or without great daring. I honour the great women that fought that great fight to victory, that women today can have the vote.

They are no more free than anyone else, in the eyes of the 1%, but they moved their cause forward immensely, and they are much farther ahead today to help men, as equals in the fight, try to tame the wild 1% beast. (lol. just in case they think that my wording is literal… beast, because I am here, hiding behind your computer screen and you cannot see my tongue in my cheek). Oh heaven sake, I hope you young people understand that term.

So to set the stage for this article; I wrote a petition to get the Home Depot to stop selling plants that have been treated with the pesticide Neonicotinoids, that have been linked to both the collapse of the honey bee population, and also it has been linked to human health being jeopardized if we take them into our bodies.

I think that you will be able to understand the article from what I wrote on my Face Book site, to people who didn’t sign my petition. Here is what I wrote, and you will see that I didn’t pull any punches with my friends either. I will see if I have any friends left.

I was looking at my petition, trying to find out who I can get to sign it still, and I see that most of my friends have not signed the petition. Before you all run off or duck, I noticed that many people went to the petition site, but did not sign the petition. I myself have 296 friends and only 77 people have signed the petition.

I could start pointing fingers, but I have no interest in being angry at anyone. True, many of the people that I rub elbows with on FB are gardeners, and maybe they aren’t political. So, what about the rest. I looked at the petition and thought that the language is a bit strong. You have to understand that after almost 50 years of doing politics I don’t pull punches and especially I see no need to be too polite to a Corporate big guy like Home Depot; selling plants to people that will be their food and it being contaminated with Neonicks. That is not my idea of their corporate heads being nice or responsible people.

I am not sure if it is that people think I should be nicer, or that people are just not just up for a scrap. It is too late for that concern, look at Bill C51, or Monsanto taking over our food supply, and on and on, it seems to me that the 1% have brought the fight to us and if we are not up for a scrap, well….you answer for yourself. I know I have children, and grandchildren that I am here for and I don’t intend to play nice with disgusting people that will put Neonicks in peoples’ food to make a buck.

So, I rewrote the petition, with less bravado, hoping that less people would choke on the wording. Home Depot should still stop selling those plants. I will tone it down because the bottom line is, the more Multinational Corporations that get poked in the eye by the public the more it will make them think that just maybe we, the People, are up for a scrap, and they won’t just bowl over us as merrily as they always have in the past.        

I thank those 77 people who felt strong enough in taking a stand, that they would sign the petition as it stood with the stronger wording.

Me and The Only Sign I Want to SeeThis is a picture of me, with a sign that I put up just before the last federal election. Do you think that I wanted the politicians to know what I think. I also put up a sign that said, “Democracy is the People getting a say between Elections”. As you can see, by my own definition, the math says that we do not have a democracy. We have rights, that our leaders seem bent on taking from us, but we do not have democracy.

Scan1If you see how beat up this picture is, it is and adaptation of a picture that I used to remind me of who I was, 20 sum years ago, when I and only another guy had the guts to continue the fight to stop a dump. All the other citizens said “it is a steam roller, they have already decided and we can not stop it”. Well the 2 of us stuck with it until the others saw that the dump was stoppable, and they finally jumped back into the fight after we had hung on for 1 1/2 years. Oh, and the dump was stopped in Huron County, in Ashfield Township.

And a final pictorial message to those whom have not read to the bottom, because they do not understand the need to fight for what is right, and for what you believe.

enslaved

 

 

 

 

 

 

Great fighting my friends.

Please read more and if you are finding something in my writing that you are not finding anywhere else, please share articles with your friends.

I have many more articles that will expand your activist mind, and your understanding of politics from the viewpoint of an activist that has never been tainted by membership in the Party System. Freedom will never be found there; Parties are a major problem.

https://pushinback.wordpress.com/2013/06/02/the-party-system-an-illusion-of-a-democracy-9/

And watch this and see if this is a guy that is ready for a scrap….it’s me…. watch for that mischievous smile.

About pushinback

Back in 1993, I attended an anti-Nafta rally in Ottawa along with over 110,000 others. But despite the overwhelming opposition to NAFTA, the steamroller rolled on. It was there that I came to understand the one vital thing that I have been preaching ever since. There are so many issues, and so many fighting each issue, we are all spinning our wheels, and wasting our time, talents and energy, because each election, we give the politicians our power and so the deck is stacked against us. I said it that day and I say it with more fervency today. We all have one issue that we share, and we should all stop fighting for our own issues and losing anyways, and we should fight to achieve that one thing that we all share. We Canadians all have to fight to finally get a say between elections. We need to fight to make politicians accountable to us, the people. If there is no accountability, and the people have no say between elections, we have no Democracy. My Blog is written to teach the reader the essential knowledge of freedom and Democracy. Please read, and learn. I am one person, but I leave you my witness that one person is not powerless, only first you must first learn and then act. Let the democratic revolution begin. Kindest regards, Rob McQueen
This entry was posted in 1% / 99%, Activism, Esencial Information for Democracy and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

