Why Don’t He Write


signs 3

Quoting from Dances With Wolves, the uncouth teamster Timmon says to the man with an arrow in his chest “Now,why don’t he write”. Well I’m sure that many of my readers have said the same of me after I stopped writing my articles for a while.

I thought that I would draw back the curtain and expose why I have not written so much as of late.

I have been struggling with issues of time, like anyone. But I do from 2 to 5 hours a day on political issues. I am a political animal. But even 2 to 5 hours a day is not enough time when the politicians disregard the people, and at the same time so many prefer to sleep as us activists burn out our lives trying to grow our democracy, and/or defend ourselves from the loss of freedoms. I had to come to a conclusion whether I was Activist first, or Writer…. and I guess Activist won. I have experienced so much, as an activist, over the years since I was 12, and perhaps earlier. Yes I can write it and share it with you, but almost 2 50 articles have already been written, and my activism become research deeper into the belly of effective activism.

While away from the pen, I worked on 4 issues.

  1. I was upset that our Federal Harper Government what drastically reducing the funding to our National Radio Station, the CBC. The CBC has, by it’s tradition, always had a free hand to stand up to Governments through the year. It is owned by the People of Canada, and as such it doesn’t carry the prejudice of a multinational Elitist that has a 1% bent in reporting. The CBC is not way up front, like activists, in understanding democracy, but as a platform of information to the general public they are leagues ahead of the private sources of information out there. So I threw some support behind the campaign to save CBC. Result of action: the funding cuts to the CBC have been stopped. We still don’t know whether CBC will have their funding returned to health levels, but the cuts are for now stopped.
  2. Canada Post began to install Community Mailboxes in London, and what first attracted me first attracted me to the issue was that Canada Post, being a large Corporation bullheadedly went about choosing spots for planting their boxes and many of their decisions were plain wrong. We defended 6 spots in London, but I will mention just 2. One spot for a postal box was half way up a hill, which in the Winter, would require cars, that stopped, as drivers got their mail, would have to back up down the hill to get it up the hill on already icy roads. The other spot was were a 4 box set would be in the way of a drivers sight to back out of his driveway onto a busy street. There would be 2 young children in the back seat of the car. There was also another issue that came into play, it was a symbol of resistence to a large corporation, us building flower planters on designated Box spots. Result: Of the 6 spots we protected, 5 still have only the flower boxes that we built on site. These people still have Door-to Door home mail delivery. We proved to Londoners the value of Activism and Resistence.
  3. With the advent of the Harper Omnibus Bill, and Bill C 51, and other terrible pieces of legislature, I as did a massive activist in my community and across Canada, determined that the undemocratic Harper Government had to go. So I choose to try to bring down my own personal MP, the Minister of Science and  Technology, Ed Holder. LeadNow didn’t want to touch Ed Holder thinking that he was not removable. Ed had won with a comfortable 5000 vote surplus in the past election. But my beef was with my MP, not an MP in another riding. I had gone to Ed’s office to complain of his sheep following of Harper. I wanted my Sheep of Parliament gone. Result: I am not saying that I had a dramatic part in his defeat, but me and my 32 signs, “Drop Holder” did have an impact.  I spent upwards to 120 hrs making signs, putting up signs etc, as the cat/mouse game of me putting up signs and them being stolen, me moving the signs, or holding up my signs on busy street intersections in the City. Ed lost with more than 5000 vote spread. I contributed my part to ridding us of the Harper Government on the internet as well, on FB.
  4. As said before, I have been an activist for many years, and I have tried, mostly in vain, to get the majority activated in politics. But the majority wants to sleep as their freedoms are being stolen. So I decided that I would get ahead of the curve and plan for the day when the whole system comes crashing down around us. The plain fact is that the Trudeau Government will still be an instrument of the 1% bringing in free trade and other policies that will enhance the grip of the 1% on our Economy and our wallets and our lives. So I have the knowledge of eating weeds for food and medicine. I learned it starting at 9 years old. I have decided to teach as many people in London as I can. I am hoping in the years to come, to teach 1000 Londoners how to eat weeds, and to use weeds for medicine. As a platform to achieve that aim, I have a FaceBook site called Forage City London to teach people about edible and medicinal weeds. I am hoping it will become a template for other communities to model after. You are all welcome to apply for membership. It is also the means to inform the public of my free workshops where I take people to forage and take them to the Church to which I attend, and we create a meal of the foraged foods and eat it. It is a full circle of the process of foraging. This has become a springboard to working with others to create Food Forests within the City, areas where food will grow for foraging and future food sources for the whole populations of London, should the economy collapse in times to come. The issue is, if the economy every did collapse, the People could feed themselves by foraging. In the most extreme case, if the City was to fall into uproar over food not traveling into London, we may avoid the chaos if there was 1000 people here to teach people what they could eat for food. That is only the bare bones of what I have been working on in this folder.
  5. I am now working on the issue of stopping the sale of Hydro One in Ontario, to stop the hiking of costs of hydro to the public and to business.

Projects that I have been dabbling with, and will shortly come into the works is, working with others to revamp London’s Community Garden System. We want to get a better control of the system, so that the gardeners actually garden, and don’t walk away from their gardening. They both leave a weedy mess behind, but it is also a loss of potential food that will be grown in the City, in the future. We plan on setting up a system of workshops to teach gardening to garden, to have head gardeners over each community, and that each community will have mentoring by head gardeners, and potluck events to build community. We hope that this will build leadership skills, and community planning and organizing skills.

Another project I hope to continue in is with a group creating a Peoples’ Parliament, were we project into the future what could bring us, and make plans to remedy those problems. Being Activists, we will look at more radicle possibilities, to which our City leaders will not even think of – economic collapse.

Next month I will be house sitting for a friend that is going to Vietnam. She has chickens, not exactly legally in London, and I raised chickens in the past, so I was qualified to take care of things there.

So, that is what I’ve been up to, and sorry, but that is why I have not written. If you think about it, I have helped in winning in 3 battles as of late. I have been away from writing, but it has sure been good research to inform all of you how to be a successful activist, and to make real changes.

Other articles that you might enjoy:

The Signs of Democracy https://pushinback.wordpress.com/2015/09/26/the-signs-of-democracy/

The Long Road to the Polls  https://pushinback.wordpress.com/2015/10/19/%EF%BB%BFthe-long-road-to-the-polls/

 

 

 

About pushinback

Back in 1993, I attended an anti-Nafta rally in Ottawa along with over 110,000 others. But despite the overwhelming opposition to NAFTA, the steamroller rolled on. It was there that I came to understand the one vital thing that I have been preaching ever since. There are so many issues, and so many fighting each issue, we are all spinning our wheels, and wasting our time, talents and energy, because each election, we give the politicians our power and so the deck is stacked against us. I said it that day and I say it with more fervency today. We all have one issue that we share, and we should all stop fighting for our own issues and losing anyways, and we should fight to achieve that one thing that we all share. We Canadians all have to fight to finally get a say between elections. We need to fight to make politicians accountable to us, the people. If there is no accountability, and the people have no say between elections, we have no Democracy. My Blog is written to teach the reader the essential knowledge of freedom and Democracy. Please read, and learn. I am one person, but I leave you my witness that one person is not powerless, only first you must first learn and then act. Let the democratic revolution begin. Kindest regards, Rob McQueen
This entry was posted in Activism and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why Don’t He Write

  1. Linda Campbell says:

    I couldn’t find your Facebook page, however you should look into Canadian Monetary and Economic Reform page. There is a lawsuit against the Bank of Canada and others trying to force the bank to act as it is mandated to do. That is to lend money for the public good at little or no interest, avoiding massive debt. Canada is the only country that could back out of the Bank of Settlements and go back to financing public works and not have the massive debts we are all paying for at the moment.

    • pushinback says:

      Hello well informed Linda Campbell. I know Paul, I once tried to drum up interviews for him on CBC. I love CBC, but alas no interest in the guts of what is really happening in Canada. You have to understand that news people aren’t activists, nor do they think like activists.

      I was tutored in alternative money systems more than 40 years ago by old Social Creditors in Alberta. They saw in me my youth, but also a hunger for truth and to get into the guts of solutions. That is why I am thrilled to see you try to steer me to Canadian Monetary… I have a friend, in London, George Cromwell, who is friends with Paul and a member of COMER. I am updated by him on Paul’s progress.
      By the way, I have written several articles on Monetary issues and also reform. Here is an article that might interest you. You can find other articles by looking for Monetary Issues on my site. Let me know if you have trouble finding it. Here is an article to explain how the monetary system began https://pushinback.wordpress.com/2014/04/13/the-story-of-money-credit-and-banks/

      As far as my FB page, were you looking for my personal page, or my Foraging page. My political page is Rob McQueen, and my foraging site is Forage City London. My email is pushinback@gmail.com if you want to contact me. Be well Linda.

Leave a Reply

